Riders' Reviews

Dear Vietnam Backroads,
Thank you for the trip - it was a real highlight of our stay in Vietnam. I posted review on Tripadvisor. We really enjoyed the trip immensly.
I was thinking of what to do during 4 days around Tet (Vietnamese New Year) in Saigon and then found the vietnambackroads.com website. The Mekong delta tour - Ben Tre - Tra Vinh - Soc Trang - Can Tho, 4 days, 3 nights. Van offered us to run that trip despite Tet holidays, when everyone takes time off with family.
So Van himself was our guide (we were just with another English guy) on that most unforgettable experience. Van's knowledge of the area, his ability to select lovely by-roads, and tracks, tell stories about the places we visit and local customs, and care he took of us as customer was really a key success factor.
This is THE way to see Delta - you pass different landscapes (coconut region of Ben Tre, Tra Vinh rice fields, Khmer villages near Soc Trang, channels near Can Tho) and beautiful places where white guests are still a novelty. Delta people are very friendly and helpful, fruits fresh and very tasty and whole experience is almost surreal.
Mekong Delta in the spring is immensly beautiful and interesting.
Trip is organized extremely professionally, with back up vehicle that takes all you stuff and also takes you on boring (i.e. very busy roads) streches, bikes new and durable, everything ready when we arrive. We stayed in hotels - and all except Soc Trang were located very well and good quality. Van arranged food (everything except for beer is included in price) - and his choice of restaurants was very interesting, though I would probably prefer more street food.
It was my first that close experience with Vietnam - and for me close to trip of my lifetime. Not cheap (we paid premium because of Tet holidays), but worth every cent spent. I definitely recommend Vietnam Backroads, the way to taste real Asia. Feb 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 2014

Jakub Bielikowski party from Poland

Hi Van,
We had a most memorable time with Vietnam Backroads, we would do it again and certain would recommend your company to others. Here a few things we enjoyed as well as some other feedback.

Hotels were great and trip organization was fantastic - this allowed us to focus more on the vacation/site-seeing aspect of the adventure Guides and drivers - wonderful people. The bikes in Cambodia were more comfortable than the bikes we used in Vietnam. Food was excellent but at times too much - we hate to waste food and we felt because of the large portions, we were wasting some of it. The guides in Cambodia would stop and educate us along the way about the culture, people, history, etc. The same thing occurred in Vietnam but not as much. Day to Day flexibility was perfect allowing us to ride at our own pace. We would have liked to stop at some of the smaller markets in remote towns, we missed some of those opportunities. Overall, the experience was excellent, we would love to do it again someday.
Take care Van!

Jason Kuczek and Sally from the US

Dear Ms Hue, I'm still in Vietnam, but it will be my last week here before I go back to Malaysia :( Anyway, here is my comment: This is my second time biking with Vietnam Backroads and Mr. Van. As expected, the experience was great. Although we didn't bike as much as I had expected, the boat trip through the canals was extremely fun too. I enjoyed the the coconut candies, the honey tea, taking pictures with the tame python, the sampan ride and the food. This trip was meant to be a graduation trip with my friends, and I strongly believe that it will be a trip that all of us will remember for many, many years. Hence, thank you very much Vietnam Backroads! If I were to be back in Vietnam again, I would definitely sign up for a longer trip and challenge myself :) Ms Hue, please pass my appreciation to Mr. Trung (spelling?) and Mr. Van. Thanks to you too for the great service! ^^ Sincerely,Wei Syn A day trip cycling to My Tho & Ben Tre on June 4th 2012

Wei Syn party of South Saigon International School

Hi Mr Van, Just want to thank you, Hue, A. Trung, and Chu Hoang for a memorable biking experience.  It was truly a special reason for me to tour the Mekong Delta.  I have been posting my journey on Face Book so my friends & family could follow me on my journey.  Please share this link with Mr Trung and driver, Mr Hoang.
Please use this link: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Linhs-Ride-to-Make-a-Difference/4324148501...
I will be in Saigon until Tuesday morning so feel free to call A Minh's cell phone if you wish to contact me while I'm still here. I hope to find myself back in VN again soon so I can go on another biking adventure.
Saigon - Ben Tre - Tra Vinh - Soc Trang - Bac Lieu - Ca Mau - Rach Gia - Chau Doc - Saigon 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 -9 - 10 July 2012

Linh from Canada

Ms. Hue, My sister and I just got home after our month-long travels in Southeast Asia. We had an amazing trip! We really enjoyed our experience with Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours.  Our guide, Nghi, and driver, Mr. Loc, picked us up promptly from our hotel in Ha Tien.  Mr. Nghi showed us how to adjust the bicycles and then we were off on our adventure! The bicycle tour was a great way to experience the Mekong Delta.  We biked through many villages and saw the surrounding countryside that we probably wouldn't have seen otherwise. It was an eye-opening experience as we biked through villages and greeted the local people- many of whom had not seen a foreigner in a long time.  We would highly recommend Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours! We would suggest that drinks be included in the price of the tour for lunches and dinners.  Also, if it would be possible to set up payment through credit card on your website that would be a lot easier than the hassle of the money transfer. 6 - 7 - 8 July 2012

Erica Kaser & Danielle from USA

The hotels were really good with exceptional of stay at The Long hotels which was average.Food was good though. Great mix of local cuisine and good to eat at local restaurants. Hoang was a good guide and very helpful, looked after us well and our driver was excellent too. We always felt safe with him behind the wheels. It was good that the bike riding was flexible for our abilities. We will recommend this tour to our friends. 06 - 14 Nov 2012.

Gemma and Lawrence from Australia. <simmo@peoplewhodostuff.com>

Dear Miss Hue, we are back again in Germany and again very busy in our companies.We enjoyed very much your country and especially the bike-ride in the Mekong Delta. The tour was very interesting and we saw a lot. Mr. Trung was a very good guide and we could ask him everything. He has knowledge about almost everything, so we could ask a lot. Everything worked good, the paths we were riding were fascinating and the distances were not too hard. So we can recommend Vietnam Backroads. Especially the Ba Duc homestay, which Mr. Trung recommended, was very nice. Please say thank you to him.

Anna Singer from Germany. "Anna Singer" <fam-singer@t-online.de>

We have really enjoyed our 3 days of cycling in the Mekong Delta - even more than we expected. Our guide, Harry was fantastic and made our trip even more enjoyable with his charm, memory and good English.
We have now had a 2 weeks holiday in Vietnam with many good and interesting experiences - but the cycling trip was the the best ! The icing on the cake in what has been a fabulous holiday. Thank you very much  25 - 26 - 27 Nov 2012

Rory & Guri O'Brien from UK. From: "Rory Obrien" <rory@hygieneshop.com>

Dear Vietnam Backroads,
Many thanks for a fantastic trip, I have to say it was one of the best experiences of our whole trip. Thang was an excellent guide - very knowledgeable. The driver was lovely too. I am emailing to ask i could buy a Vietnam Backroads jersey, I saw our guide Thang wearing one. I would like to wear it at my cycling club back in the UK! I am in Saigon for one night staying at Captown hotel tomorrow (22nd November) an sign out 23rd to fly back to the uk. I am Medium size (same as Thang). Would it be possible to get a jersey to the Captown hotel for me?
Many thanks. 14th - 17th Nov 2012

Victoria Drummond from UK. From:"Victoria Drummond" <drummond.victoria@gmail.com>

Many hotel were excellent, but some were just okay. I will send an email specifies. We LOVED our cycling trip! Phuc was a helpful, fun and knowledgeable guide. He helped with everything & made the experience exciting and fun. Mr My was a conscientious and skilled driver( cooking lessons in Hoi An, clothing tailor, squid rolls on the beach, barbecued goat in the mountains, coconuts of the tree!) He ever help us get a resort room for after the trip ended. The best…! 23 Dec 2012 - 05 Jan 2013

Lukas party from the US. "Lukas Blakk" <lukasblakk@gmail.com>

Hi Van, We had a most memorable time with Vietnam Backroads, we would do it again and certain would recommend your company to others. Here a few things we enjoyed as well as some other feedback. Hotels were great and trip organization was fantastic - this allowed us to focus more on the vacation/site-seeing aspect of the adventure Guides and drivers - wonderful people. The bikes in Cambodia were more comfortable than the bikes we used in Vietnam. Food was excellent but at times too much - we hate to waste food and we felt because of the large portions, we were wasting some of it. The guides in Cambodia would stop and educate us along the way about the culture, people, history, etc. The same thing occurred in Vietnam but not as much. Day to Day flexibility was perfect allowing us to ride at our own pace. We would have liked to stop at some of the smaller markets in remote towns, we missed some of those opportunities. Overall, the experience was excellent, we would love to do it again someday. Take care Van!

Jason Kuczek and Sally from the US

Miss Hanh and Mr Khoa are overseas Vietnameses "Do, Hannah" <Hannah.Do@team.telstra.com>
Fantastic way for us to see North to South Vietnam and good as we are Vietnamese we got to see the non tourist sites and more local life. The staff – tour guide & and driver are very friendly and professional. We will definitely do more with the tours and recommend to our friends to try.
Thanks you very much for a great experience. 17 - 30 Dec 2012
I will blog about this tour on Vietnam Backroads Bike Tours

Stephanie Hall party from Australia: stephanie.hall2@yahoo.com.au
Trip was fantastic! Tour guides and staff were excellent. Hotel Happy Light in Nha Trang was below expectation due to poor bath rooms and room maintenance faucets.
No pressure to buy anything (tourist staff) was good. 17 - 30 Dec 2012

Hannah party & Stephanie Hall party from Australia

Loved the bike tour. Huy was a great guide – very knowledgeable and great sense of humor. He made sure that we had plenty of food and water and local treats. I would have preferred a different hotel uncomfortable beds, no windows, but did not affect our trip overall.
I would recommend Vietnam Backroads and especially   Huy!
Megan: Huy was a great guide! He made the trip easy. His English is excellent and he is very knowledgeable on the history and culture of Vietnam, At some times he went a little too fast for me to keep up with but other than that it was a great four day trip! 2 - 5 Jan 201

Dave party from the US. "Dave Zabrowski" <davez@cloudcruiser.com>

Wonderful part of our vacation! Very well organized with great flexibility. This tour was in combination with the start in Cambodia. It was hotter and dustier in Cambodia and the guide, Chanra was great. Vietnam was cooler and greener and our guides. Huy was also great. I love it all and appreciate the attention to detail. Thank you for a fantastic experience!
Nicki Jepsen

This was the highlight of my trip Harry adjusted the length of our biking to fit our needs(and chose great areas)  we also requested vegetarian food, he was so gracious about finding the right places, dishes for us. Everything about the tour- the biking, food, hotels, driver, guide etc… was much better than I could have dreamed. I will definitely be back!
Tia Fukunaga 29 Feb - 03 Mar 2013

Anya’ Party from Canada - "Anya" <anyamaren@aol.com>

Hello Ms Hue
I hope you are keeping well. Sadly, I am backing home now after my wonderful holiday in Vietnam.

My wife and I very much enjoyed the Vietnam Backroads bicycle tour in the Mekong Delta - in fact it was the highlight of our time in Vietnam. Everything was very well organized and our guide took us to parts of the country that we would never have seen otherwise. To have a chance to get so close to people in the villages and those farming the rice fields was an unforgettable experience, as was the beautiful scenery that we got to enjoy. Our support vehicle and excellent driver were always on hand with drinks and cold towels, which were very welcome after a hot day in the saddle! I would highly recommend Vietnam Backroads to others. Thanks for everything and all the best for the future. 24 - 27 Mar 2013

Steve and Sadly from UK. <stevenjcurry@hotmail.com>

Hi Vietnam Backroads,

Yes - now safely back in the UK. Although there was some snow on the ground when we arrived home last weekend the temperature has just warmed up here and it is now slightly warmer than it was on our first day in Hanoi (17 degrees)!!

We continued to have a great time on our Halong Bay cruise and were looked after well by your guide in Hanoi who also organised a final airport transfer for us.
 
Mike and I have now reflected on the holiday and both of us were profoundly moved by the whole experience of Vietnam and Cambodia. In particular we found Vietnamese people to be very friendly and welcoming, the food amazing and the scenery spectacular and varied.
 
We were delighted with the service we received from Vietnam Backroads right from the first contact with you through to the biking trip and the end in Hanoi. It is hard to be critical because we know how much effort you all put in and we feel the trip was really good value for money. Mike and I both think that the trip was even better because Van was with us. As the owner he was able to decide to give us even more out of the trip (e.g food stops) than perhaps Harry could decide on his own on a set budget. The bikes were great, well maintained and the team did everything for us including lending us gloves/sleeves!  We went to some wonderful restaurants which we would never have found on our own and were amazed at the quality and quantity of food we were able to order within the package price (and more importantly Van/Harry would order for us which made life really easy and ensured we got to try local specialities). Similarly the drink stops were well organised and much more frequent than we anticipated and the unexpected fruit stops were great. The biking routes were brilliant and we felt we really got a chance to see the 'real' Vietnam.  Finally, the team were very flexible in changing itinery/hotels (e.g Hanoi) at short notice.
 
It is very difficult to find areas for improvement....on a minor point the hotel we moved to in Hanoi, although set in a spectacular location, was a bit run down and unfortunately they had drained the swimming pool for the season. However this had no impact on the trip as the weather continued cloudy until we left! We cant think of anything else we would change!!
 
All in all a brilliant trip and we hope to come back and do Laos at some time with you. Please give our regards to Van and Harry and show them the attached pictures. We would recommend Vietnam Backroads to anyone travelling to Vietnam and if you are able to send us some of your new cycling shirts we would happily wear them as an advert for thecompany. 1st - 14th April 2013. video clip Cycling with Vietnam Backroads
Add: 6 Heather Lea Avenue Sheffield, England S1730J

Sarah Harrington and Mike from the UK. hoppitypoppity@live.co.uk

Hi Van,
Thanks again for organising a great trip on the weekend, many good memories and photos will be taken back to Australia with Mary and Carolyn. 29 Oct 2011

Jayne Anderson party from Saigon Riverside School

We arrived back home yesterday.  Had a great time on our trip!  Thank you for leaving the cycling jersey's for us at our hotel room in Chau Doc, we really appreciated those.
We left our feedback form with Thai for the Vietnam portion of the trip. Overall we really enjoyed our experience.  Both guides were great.  Thai was extremely professional, educational and accommodating while we were there.  Our guide in Cambodia, Po Leak, was maybe not as professional as Thai but was very informative, friendly, and helpful as well.  The one thing that would have made the trip even better is if we were provided some kind of detailed map to follow along with where we came from and went every day that had descriptions about our destinations.  I had a little trouble remembered where we were and where we were going each day because we went so many places in such a short time.
Otherwise the trip was great and we will definitely recommend it to our friends.  We also plan to write a review for you on Trip Adviser at some point in the next week or so to help promote Vietnam Backroads. 28 Nov 2011

Michael Jazwiecki family from US

Dear Van,
thanks for your mail. I am back at my office desk now - sadly my holiday in Vietnam is over. I enjoyed it very much, though - and also enjoyed the bike trip through the Mekong Delta very much. Hung was a very good replacement for you - at least I can say we had lots of fun with him and he really showed us around the backroads. Everything was perfectly arranged, we were felt well, the hotels were allright - we loved the trip.
Best wishes from Germany.  05 Dec 2011

Susanna from Germany

Hi Van,
we've just finished our a wonderful trip, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.  Thai and Mr Hoang looked after us beautifully, and the scenery was fantastic.  It was a great way to experience Vietnam.
Now, we are now keen to do a cycle tour (4 days/3 nights) in the Mekong Delta from 18 January to 21 January 2012.  Trip started on 29 Dec 2011 and ended on 07 Jan 2012

Jessie Harman family from Australia

Pages